SIGOMA is a campaigning network of urban local authorities. We are open to all metropolitan districts outside London and to urban unitary councils sharing similar characteristics with our existing members.

We have a total of 47 members, made up of metropolitan and unitary councils, stretching from the North-east and North-west, through Yorkshire and the Midlands to the south-west coast.

SIGOMA functions at a political level through its MPs' Group, at a local leadership level through its council Members' Group and at a technical level through its Treasurers' and Technical Officers' groups. For more information on SIGOMA membership, contact the SIGOMA office on 01226 773142. See What We Do for more information.


Chair: Cllr Sir Stephen Houghton CBE (Barnsley MBC)

Chair of MPs Groups: Marie Rimmer MP (St. Helens South and Whiston)

Cllr Alam

Co-Vice Chair: Councillor Saghir Alam OBE (Rotherham)

Co-Vice Chair: Councillor Rupinder Singh (Coventry)

Co-Vice Chair: Councillor Graham Chapman (Nottingham)

SIGOMA Officer Team - based in Barnsley MBC

Head of Research and Policy - Geoff Winterbottom

Senior Policy and Communications Officer - Sam Blakeman

Assistant Research and Communications Officer - Zoe Adams